Cat Mac in the Castle

Manure, Big Smoke & Burns

Leave a comment

On Sunday morning, I woke up with a new sense of vigour. My body had been restored to good health and I was ready to escape the bedroom where I’d felt captive in illness for the previous 36 hours. Being sick is pants. Being well is the shizzle. ‘Let’s explore!!!!’ I messaged Nick with no exaggeration on the exclamation marks.

The castle referred to in the blog name is Herstmonceux Castle, one of the oldest brick buildings, if not the first, in the UK apparently. Oh yes. Not just any castle. The castle is the main landmark of Herstmonceux village, a short (ahem) 45 minute walk from the castle along a muddy, farmy, quiet, villagey road. Nick and I, like all of the students, are carless whilst at the castle. This means we are, in a sense, stuck. Fortunately, there are minibuses organised daily to various destinations in the area and some of our fellow staff members have vechicles so there are means of escape, should it be required!

Thinking we should see what there was available locally, we set off for the village. There wasn’t much to observe. Unfortunately, my enthusiasm backfired in that we were too early for the two pubs and had to settle for cans of fizzy juice from the local corner shop as means of rehydration. But hey, who needs a pub when you’ve found your local free manure supplier!

let me know if you’d like some too

Following an exciting afternoon of Asda and Starbucks, the official opening ceremony of the winter term took place on Sunday evening. I was pleased to discover that Canadian opening ceremonies are not as formal as their Japanese counterparts. After a brief welcoming speech from the director, everyone was free to mingle, wine and cheese in hand. It was good to have the opportunity to chat to some of the students, and also the professors who were there selling their courses. Already this experience has emphasised how impersonal my degree was at the University of Edinburgh. I was just a number; I could have been anyone. Contrastingly, here, the students are in classes of about 3o, the professors really get to know their students’ abilities and can provide advice based on that knowledge. It’s a pretty cool opportunity for the students and I imagine, probably more rewarding for everyone involved.

But if I thought Asda was exciting, Monday was only going to get better. Today, Nina, the Academic Travel manager, took us into London to test our navigation skills, using maps shock horror.  What do you mean I can’t use my iPhone?? In addition to seeing how we coped without technology, it was a good opportunity for her to show us the main London sites where we’d be taking the students, including the Victoria and Albert museum and the National Gallery at Trafalgar Square. The trip made me realise how little time I’ve actually spent in London. I’ve visited the city a number of times but never really to visit the city, more to see friends or catch a glimpse of Andy Murray at Wimbledon.  This new exposure to cultural sights made me feel like I was visiting for the first time, and it also reminded why I’ve always had it in my head that I want to live in London. I LOVE IT. There’s so much going on, there are a squillion nationalities everywhere you look, and it’s a beautiful city, full of history and charm.

inside the very swish restaurant of the victoria and albert museum

inside the very swish restaurant of the victoria and albert museum

it's sunny in london!!

it’s sunny in london!!

the victoria and albert museum. note the blue skies. oh london you tropical south you.

the victoria and albert museum. note the blue skies. oh london you tropical south you.

The journey takes about 1.5 hours on the train from Polegate to London Victoria, making a day trip a distinct possibility. Upon arriving back at the castle, I joined the first practice of the open choir with the students which I was delighted to discover involved singing Scots Wha Hae and Charlie Is My Darling in preparation for the Burns celebrations we’ll be having later in the month. Why yes, I would love to sing traditional Scottish songs thank you very much. To top it all off, I got back to my room and discovered it was only 8.30pm. Win! #oldage

gareth malone, you're very welcome too

gareth malone, you’re very welcome too

Leave a comment